Access Keys:

Whitehouse Primary School, 2 Doagh Rd, Newtownabbey
Happy Summer Holidays! We wish all our families a great summer.  School begins again on Thursday 30th August. Best wishes from the Governors and staff of Whitehouse Primary School. | Rights Respecting School Award - Article 31: You have the right to rest and leisure, as well as to play…’
open new window

'Order of the Phoenix' - Our House Competition System

The Dragon's shield is moved to the 'highest place' of honour.
The Dragon's shield is moved to the 'highest place' of honour.
Never has victory tasted so sweet!
Never has victory tasted so sweet!

In our school badge is a phoenix.  After our old school was sadly burned down the phoenix was included as a symbol of optimism and triumphing over adversity. We wanted these qualities to not only be highlighted on our badge but instilled in our pupils.

In November 2015 we launched our 'Order of the Phoenix' house system.  The purpose of this system was to build on our already excellent standards of discipline by promoting character traits in our pupils.  All the pupils from Year 1 to Year 7 were selected by a house.  The four houses are named after wonderful creatures from mythology and literature.  The teams are as follow:

Dragon House

Giant House

Griffin House

Pegasus House 

All pupils have a house badge with their house colour.  When they demonstrate good behaviour, especially one linked to our value word of the month e.g. forgiving, they are awarded house gold.  The pupils then deposit their gold into their house 'treasure chest' in the school foyer.  Once per half term there is a house assembly when each house's hoard of treasure is revealed.  This is a very exciting day!

The winning house has their house shield move to the 'highest place' and all members of the house receive a treat.  These can include a visit to Mr Bailie' Ice Cream Parlour or even a bouncy castle experience.  


Our House captains for 2016 - 17










Grace Hamill


Keeley Martin

Matthew Rankin

Louise Bothwell

Andrew Campbell


Hannah Convery

Kasey-Leigh McNally

Trenton Waring